This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015 Results

Bihar Assembly Elections: 586 candidates in the fray for 1st phase after withdrawal

Last Updated: Sunday, September 27, 2015 - 00:24

Patna: Altogether 586 candidates are in the fray from 49 seats in the first phase of Bihar Assembly elections on the last day of withdrawal of nominations on Saturday.

A total of 605 candidates had filed nomination for the first phase of polling on October 12 next, of which 19 withdrew their names on the last day of withdrawal today.

"A total of 586 candidates are left in fray for the first phase after end of date of withdrawal," Additional Chief Electoral Officer (ACEO) R Lakshmanan told reporters.

While Morwa and Moiuddinnagar seats in Samastipur have maximum 18 candidates each at the end of withdrawal, Warsaliganj in Nawada and Teghra in Begusarai have minimum six and seven candidates respectively, he said.

Polling for the first phase of polling will be held in 10 districts.

Lakshamanan said a total of 100 nominations were filed today for the second phase of election to 32 seats in six districts.

Former Chief Minister and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) leader Jitan Ram Manjhi filed nomination for Imamganj (reserved SC seat) during the day, he said.

Manjhi would be taking on Speaker of outgoing Assembly Uday Narayan Chaudhary from the seat in Gaya district.

With today's nomination, a total of 210 nominees have submitted papers for second phase of elections so far.

The ACEO said as part of special drive in view of elections, more than Rs 7 lakh unaccounted cash and 16,362 litre of illegal liquor were seized today.

Giving details, he said Rs 4,05,000 was seized in Aurangabad, Rs 2,87,200 in Sheikhpura and Rs 1,00,000 in Nawada.

On the law and order front, 11 arms/weapons seized along with 17 cartridges during the exercise today.

A total of 694 non-bailable warrants were executed during the day, the ACEO added. 


First Published: Sunday, September 27, 2015 - 00:24

comments powered by Disqus

Bihar Elections 2015 Photos