Bihar bypolls: Voters have rejected divisive politics, says Nitish Kumar

Last Updated: Monday, August 25, 2014 - 14:34

Zee Media Bureau

Patna: JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar on Monday expressed satisfaction at the results of the Bihar bypolls and said that the people have rejected the politics of division.

“I would like to thank the voters. The results have declared that the feeling of harmony has won,” he said while addressing a press conference after the results were declared.

He added that the poll results were significant as it clearly states the mandate of people shortly after the recently held Lok Sabha elections.

Nitish further said that unlike others, his party had made no tall claims during the campaign.

The `grand alliance` of RJD, JD(U) and Congress gained majority in six Assembly seats while BJP could manage to win only four.
The bypolls were held on 10 Assembly seats - Hajipur, Chapra, Mohiuddinagar, Parbatta, Bhagalpur, Rajnagar (SC), Jale, Mohania (SC), Narkatiaganj, Banka.

First Published: Monday, August 25, 2014 - 14:24

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus