Bihar Legislature pays tribute to APJ Abdul Kalam

Both Houses of Bihar Legislature Monday paid rich tributes to late former president A P J Abdul Kalam on the opening day of the Monsoon Session here.

Patna: Both Houses of Bihar Legislature Monday paid rich tributes to late former president A P J Abdul Kalam on the opening day of the Monsoon Session here.

Along with the former president, the legislators paid tributes to former state governor R S Gavai and a few former members of the House.

Both the Houses took up a proposal to condole the death of President Kalam among others.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar joined members in observing one minute silence in respect of Kalam and others.

Speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary read a condolence message on behalf of members fondly remembering the visit of Kalam to address joint session of the Bihar Legislature in 2006 as well in 2011.

Choudhary recalled how Kalam in his address to joint session of the state Legislature on November 15, 2011 had described the 243 members of Assembly as "243 development pillars" and guided them to usher the state on the path of development.

He had given 10-point suggestion for faster growth of Bihar, he recalled.

The contribution of Kalam in realising the dream of establishment of Nalanda University could never be forgotten, the Speaker said.

Besides, paying condolence to Kalam and Gavai, the Assembly members paid respect to former members Baldev Hazra, Sushil Kumar Singh, Ram Parikshan Sahu, Baleshwar Ram, Mangan Insan, Madhav Sinha, Arun Kumar Sinha, Jay Kumar Palit, Ram Naresh Prasad, Anand Mohan Singh and Baidyanath Yadav who died in between the last session and this session.

The Legislative Council also paid tributes to the departed personalities.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link