This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015 Results

BJP, LJP reach seat-sharing deal for Bihar polls

Last Updated: Saturday, September 12, 2015 - 12:05
BJP, LJP reach seat-sharing deal for Bihar polls

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: In a late night-development, the Bharatiya Janata Party on Friday reached seat-sharing agreement with ally Lok Janshakti Party for the Bihar Assembly Elections 2015.

As per reports, the BJP will contest 160 of the total 243 seats while the remaining allies of the alliance will fight on the rest.

The deal was reached during a meeting between LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan and BJP president Amit Shah.

“Seat-sharing has been decided upon, in a couple of days we will decide on seat selection as well,” said Ram Vilas Paswan's son Chirag on Saturday.

“I hope with the sweetness of last night we all will contest elections and Diwali will be a historic NDA celebration,” he added.

Later today, senior BJP leaders are likely to meet at Amit Shah's residence to give finishing touches to the seat-sharing arrangements with all allies.

The National Democratic Alliance will also meet in the evening over allocation of seats.

After the NDA meeting, it is expected that a formal announcement by the alliance will be made.

Bihar goes to polls next month in a five-phase election from October 12 to November 5.

First Published: Saturday, September 12, 2015 - 10:06

comments powered by Disqus

Bihar Elections 2015 Photos