BPCC suspends party MLA for cross voting in RS Polls

Last Updated: Wednesday, June 23, 2010 - 14:44

Patna: The Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee today suspended party MLA Khurshid Alam for six years as he defied the party whip and voted in favour of JD(U) candidate in the recent Rajya Sabha elections.

BPCC chief spokesman Prem Chandra Mishra told PTI here that while nine out of 10 party MLAs abided by the party`s decision to abstain from voting in the Rajya Sabha elections, Khurshid Alam, the MLA from Sikta in West Champaran district defied the party decision and voted in favour of JD(U) nominee.

Mishra said Alam has been removed from the party for six years.

Altogether 10 MLAs had cross voted during the Rajya Sabha polls defying the whips issued by their respective parties.
While the BJP MLA from Rajauli Banwari Ram had voted in favour of RJD nominee Ram Kirpal Yadav, two RJD MLAs Rajesh Singh and Rajkishore Singh alias Pappu Yadav voted in favour of JD(U) candidates, the lone NCP MLA Abdul Jalil had also
voted in favour of RJD candidates.

The five-member BSP which in principle had decided to back Independent candidate B G Uday from Banglore did not keep their words as four out of five MLAs voted for the RJD.
However, one BSP MLA chose to vote in favour of JD (U).


First Published: Wednesday, June 23, 2010 - 14:44
comments powered by Disqus