This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015 Results

JMM to contest Bihar polls independently

Last Updated: Thursday, September 10, 2015 - 13:39
JMM to contest Bihar polls independently

Patna: The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) will contest on all the 243 assembly seats in Bihar on its own, a leader said on Thursday.

Founded by former Jharkhand chief minister Sibu Soren, the JMM "has decided to contest from all seats alone in Bihar polls", the leader, Supriyo Bhattacharya, said here a day after the Election Commission announced dates of the poll in October and November.

"We will not join hands with anyone. There is no chance to join any alliance," he said.

In 2010, the JMM had contested 62 seats and won only one. Its candidate Sumit Kumar Singh, son of then Bihar minister and senior JD-U leader Narendra Singh, wrested the Chakai assembly seat but later joined the Janata Dal-United.

The party enjoys a support base among tribals in districts bordering Jharkhand.


First Published: Thursday, September 10, 2015 - 13:39

comments powered by Disqus

Bihar Elections 2015 Photos