This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Left parties declare their candidates for Bihar Assembly by-polls

Last Updated: Wednesday, July 30, 2014 - 20:52

Patna: Three major left parties which have formed an alliance for Bihar Assembly by-elections today announced their candidates for the 10 seats that will go to polls next month.

In an unusual move, the CPI, CPI(M) and CPI(ML) forged grand Left alliance for the bypolls on August 21, is being seen as the semifinal before the Assembly elections in 2015.

The Left party candidates will be pitted against BJP, as well as nominees of JD(U)-RJD-Congress alliance, making the contest triangular.

Announcing the party candidates, CPI(ML) state secretary Kunal said Mukhtar Mian will contest from Narkatiaganj seat, Uttim Paswan from Rajnagar (SC), Pradeep Rai from Hajipur, Mukesh Kumar Das from Bhagalpur and Dukhi Ram from Mohania (SC) constituency.

"All CPI(ML) candidates will file their nominations tomorrow and then straightaway start campaigning in their areas," said Kunal.

CPI(M) declared Santosh Pandey as its candidate from Chapra, Manoj Kumar Sunil from Mohiuddinagar, and Hare Ram Chaudhary from Parbatta constituencies. The party`s state secretariat member Sarvoday Sharma said three contestants will file nominations on August 1.
CPI state secretary Rajendra Prasad Singh said Ahmad Ali Tamanne has been declared the party`s candidate from Jale Assembly constituency, while the contestant from Banka is yet to be decided.
Singh said all the three parties will act as one entity and their central leaders will jointly canvass for the candidates.

First Published: Wednesday, July 30, 2014 - 20:52

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus