This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Left parties finalise seat-sharing for 130 Bihar seats

Last Updated: Thursday, September 23, 2010 - 18:20

Patna: Intending to contest 200 of 243
seats in Bihar, the three major left parties in Bihar today
announced seat-sharing pact for 130 assembly constituencies
and said talks were still underway for sorting out the rest.

"We have decided seat-sharing for 130 at present and
talks are still in process for sorting out the rest of the
seats we intend to contest", state CPI-M Secretary Vijay Kant
Thakur, CPI leader Badrinarayan Lal and CPI-ML (Liberation)
secretary Nandkishore Prasad told a joint press conference.

They said of the 130 assembly constituencies, the
CPI-ML (Liberation) would be contesting from 78, CPI-M(20) and
CPI (32).

The three left parties had decided to jointly fight
the elections against the ruling NDA, RJD-LJP combine and
Congress, they said.

Thakur said the left parties joined the hands
against the culture of corruption, price spiral, loot of
public funds, corrupt politics and the issues related to land
reforms, besides giving legal rights to sharecroppers.

He said these parties would field common candidates at
around 200 places, while talks were to take a final shape for
30 more seats.

"We will evolve a clear-cut policy for the rest of 40
seats we intended to fight", Thakur added.


First Published: Thursday, September 23, 2010 - 18:20

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus