Notification issued for polls in six LS seats in Bihar

Last Updated: Thursday, March 13, 2014 - 19:55

New Delhi: The notification for polling in six constituencies in Bihar on April 10 was issued Thursday, starting the process for the nine-phased elections to the 16th Lok Sabha.

President Pranab Mukherjee issued the notification for the polling in these constituencies on the recommendation of the Union Cabinet to which the Election Commission had sent the schedule.

Sasaram, Karakat, Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada and Jamui constituencies will go for polls on April 10. While March 20 is the last date for filing nominations, scrutiny of the papers will be held the next day. Candidates in these constituencies can withdraw nominations by March 24.

The first notification for Lok Sabha, however, relates to the third phase of polling to be held on April 10 because of some administrative reasons like a holiday being observed in Bihar on March 22.
The second notification, which will cover the constituencies and states that come under the first phase of polling on April 7, will be issued on Friday. It will cover five constituencies in Assam and one in Tripura.

Saturday, March 15, will see issue of notifications for 93 constituencies spread across 18 states going to polls on April 9 and 10.
On April 9, seven constituencies in five states and on April 10, 86 constituencies in 13 states--including Delhi which has seven seats--will elect members to the Lok Sabha.

The notifications for Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim will be issued by the Governors of respective states.

First Published: Thursday, March 13, 2014 - 19:55

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus