This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015 Results

Rajiv Ranjan quits Bihar Assembly seat

Last Updated: Friday, August 14, 2015 - 21:39

Patna: A day after joining the BJP, the rebel JD(U) MLA Rajiv Ranjan on Friday resigned from the membership of Bihar Legislative Assembly.

"I met the Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary this morning and submitted a letter in specified format to quit the membership of Bihar legislative assembly with retrospective effect from August 12," he told PTI.

The Speaker has consented to accept my resignation letter with effect from August 12, he said quoting the former.

The rebel JD(U) MLA's resignation from the membership of Bihar legislative assembly could not be confirmed as the Speaker was out of town, his office said.

The legislative assembly secretary in-charge Hareram Mukhiya too expressed unawareness about this development saying that no resignation letter of a member has come to him for notification.

Ranjan, a JD(U) MLA from Islampur assembly seat in Nalanda district, the native place of the Chief Minister Nitish Kumar,had turned rebel couple of years ago charging the Chief Minister with being arrogant.

He had joined the BJP yesterday expressing faith in the BJP's ideology and leadership of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi. 


First Published: Friday, August 14, 2015 - 21:39

comments powered by Disqus

Bihar Elections 2015 Photos