Ravishankar among 6 declared elected unopposed
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Friday, March 23, 2012, 18:11
Patna: Bihar JD(U) president Bashishtha Narayan Singh and three senior party leaders, besides BJP general secretaries Ravi Shankar Prasad and Dharmendra Pradhan were on Friday declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha in the state following withdrawal of nominations by Independent candidate Ahmed Ashfaq Karim supported by the RJD-LJP combine.

Among the four JD(U) leaders elected are Ali Anwar Ansari, Mahendra Prasad and Anil Kumar Sahni, Karim took back his nomination this afternoon on the last day of withdrawal of papers, Bihar Legislative Assembly Secretary-cum-Returning Officer Laxmi Kant Jha said.

The withdrawal paved the way for declaration of the results.

"The two BJP nominees and four of JD(U) have been declared as elected unopposed to RS," Jha said.

Earlier, a contest seemed to be on the cards for Rajya Sabha elections for six seats in Bihar with the independent candidate claiming support of RJD-LJP and Congress MLAs entering the fray along with four JD(U) leaders and two from BJP.

Narayan Singh, Ansari, Mahendra Prasad and Sahni, besides BJP's Pradhan and Ravi Shankar Prasad submitted their nominations to the returning officer-cum-secretary of Bihar legislative Assembly Laxmi Kant Jha on March 19.

Hours after filing of nomination by the six official nominees (JD-U's 4 and BJP's 2), independent candidate Ahmed Ashfa Karim went to the returning officer to submit papers.


First Published: Friday, March 23, 2012, 18:11

comments powered by Disqus