Several party hoppers fall by wayside this time in Bihar
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, November 25, 2010, 11:50
Patna: Come elections and they wing their way to greener pastures. Quite a good number of these migratory political turncoats who had a field day in Bihar, struck good ticket deal as rival parties vied with each other to court them to bolster their electoral prospects, fell by the wayside this time.

The Congress, which put up a dismal performance this time by winning only four seats, had rewarded a battery of turncoats from RJD with the party tickets.

Nagmani, who had unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha polls from Chatra in Jharkhand on RJD ticket in 2009, suddenly switched loyalty to Congress to secure party nomination from Morwa, but he failed to emerge victorious.

He was earlier Agriculture Minister in the Nitish Kumar cabinet which he quit before the Lok Sabha poll and crossed over to the RJD.

His wife Suchitra Singh, was also a minister in the Nitish Kumar ministry before she paved the way for Nagmani, contested from the Congress, but did not manage to scrape through from a seat in Jehanabad.

Congress also received a shot in the arm with former MP and RJD MLA of outgoing assembly Anil Kumar joining the party. The grand old party nominated Anil Kumar from Bhore, but he finished poor third.

The ruling JD(U) too had its share of losses in electoral sweepstakes with RJD accommodating many turncoats, including sitting JD(U) MLAs Rampravesh Rai, Kedar Nath Singh, both staunch supporters of former MP Prabhunath Singh, besides its senior leaders like Veena Sahi and Reyazul Haque Raju. But only Kedarnath Singh won while the others lost.

The RJD had also nominated three JD(U) leaders Mohammed Nematullah from Barauli, Babar Azam from Amaur and Durga Prasad Singh from Ujiarpur with RJD nomination. But All the three lost.

Lalu Prasad had also fielded sitting JD(U) MP Monazir Hassan's wife Sabrnam Parveen from Munger, who too lost to JD(U).

Similarly, the JD(U) was also not not left behind in the poaching game. The party fielded sitting RJD MLAs Rajesh Singh from Balmikinagar, Giridhari Yadav (Belhar), Srikant Nirala from Maner, Bima Bharati from Rupauli and Ramlakhan Mahato from Ujiarpur, in recognition of their switching sides.

While Rajesh Singh Giridhari Yadav and Bima Bharati came out with flying colours, other two were defeated by their RJD rivals.

The ruling party also put up Izahar Ahmed, lone muslim legislator in LJP, from Gaurabauram. He won.

Former CPI MP Subodh Rai was JD(U) candidate from Sultanganj and won. The party also rewarded Sarfarj Alam with a ticket from Jokihat, who romped to victory.

Alam is son of former Union minister Md Taslimuddin, who had recently resigned from the RJD and joined Nitish Kumar's JD(U).

BJP too registered entry of leaders mostly from LJP and RJD. The party rewarded with its nomination to sitting LJP MLA Achyutanand Singh from Mahnar, who wrested the seat from LJP's Ramakishore Prasad Singh.

Another LJP leader Ranagangeshwar Singh was the BJP candidate from Mohidinagar and won.

The BJP's also granted Sudhakar Singh, son of RJD lok sabha member from Buxar Jagdanand Singh, with the party ticket from Ramgarh, a pocket-borough of his father, but he failed to make it.


First Published: Thursday, November 25, 2010, 11:50

comments powered by Disqus