Two LJP MLAs join NDA partners

In a setback to LJP, two of its MLAs today crossed over to ruling JD (U) and BJP.

Patna: In a setback to LJP, two of its
MLAs today crossed over to ruling JD (U) and BJP.

LJP legislator Achyutanand Singh joined BJP along with
hundreds of his supporters in the presence of Deputy Chief
Minister S K Modi, Bihar BJP President C P Thakur, besides
state ministers N K Yadav and Ashwini Kumar Choubey.

Singh accused LJP chief Ramvilas Paswan of "turning a
dictator" and alleged Paswan`s house now turned as `bhoot
bangla` (a bungalow of ghosts) with most of his trusted
lieutenants leaving the party.

Welcoming Singh into his party fold, Modi said he
would work to further strengthen the party in Paswan`s Hajipur
parliamentary constituency.

In a similar development, the lone Muslim LJP MLA in
Bihar, Izhar Ahmed left the party to join ruling JD(U), in
presence of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar earlier today.

The LJP MLA from Ghashyampur constituency, who was
accompanied by hundreds of supporters, announced his move at a
press conference.

Welcoming him into the party fold, Kumar said Ahmed
had played a vital role as a legislator and had always been
concerned about development of his area.

"Despite being the only Muslim legislator of the
outgoing state Assembly, the LJP leadership has denied me
ticket to contest the coming Assembly polls that has prompted
me to quit the primary membership of the party," Ahmed said.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link