This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

BSP not to contest Chhattisgarh Assembly bypoll

Last Updated: Saturday, October 17, 2009 - 19:01

Raipur: The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has decided not to contest an Assembly bypoll in Chhattisgarh Nov 7.

"The BSP will not put up a candidate for Vaishali Nagar seat, neither will we support any political outfit or independent candidate," Dauram Ratnakar, state BSP president said.

"The decision to stay out of the bypoll is purely because the party is busy with efforts to build up an organisational base in the state and we don`t want to divert attention from that for one Assembly seat," Ratnakar stated.

The poll for the Vaishali Nagar seat in Durg district was necessitated after sitting legislator of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Saroj Pandey got elected to the Lok Sabha this year and vacated the seat.

The BSP is considered the third largest party in the state after the BJP and the main opposition Congress but it has just two legislators in the 90-member state assembly.


First Published: Saturday, October 17, 2009 - 19:01

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus