Charan Das Mahant made Chhattisgarh Congress chief

Union Minister Charan Das Mahant was named Congress chief for Chhattisgarh as party, reconstituted state unit 2 months after Maoist bloodbath that had virtually wiped out its leadership in the state.

New Delhi: Union Minister Charan Das Mahant was tonight named Congress chief for Chhattisgarh as the party, in a major pre-poll exercise, reconstituted its state unit two months after the Maoist bloodbath that had virtually wiped out its leadership in the state.
Assembly elections are scheduled in the BJP-ruled state this year.

The party also set up its Co-ordination Committee and Pradesh Election Committee besides appointing five spokespersons and a dedicated social media and research department, first of its kind in any state as envisaged by Rahul Gandhi who is keen to tone up the party`s communication system across the country.

"Congress President Sonia Gandhi has approved the proposal for reconstituting the Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee, Pradesh Election Committee, Coordination Committee and some other appointments," a release by AICC General Secretary in-charge of Organizations Janardan Dwivedi said.

Senior Party leaders Motilal Vora and Ajit Jogi have been made members in the six-member Co-Ordination Committee which also has AICC general secretary in charge for the state B K Hariprasad, Mahant, CLP leader Ravindra Choubey and AICC secretary in-charge the state and party spokesperson Bhakta Charan Das as members.

The 11-member Pradesh Election Committee has members from
all segments including Dalits, OBCs and minorities. Senior leader Mohsina Kidwai, Mahant, Choubey, Vora, Jogi are among the members.

Parash Ram Bhardwaj, Dhanendra Sahu, Ram Pukar Singh, Mohd. Akbar, Bodha Ram Kanwar and Dhanesh Patila are also its members.

Maoists had ambushed a convoy of Congress leaders in Chhattisgarh`s Bastar district May 25, killing 27 people including state Congress chief Nand Kumar Patel, his son Dinesh, senior Congress leader Mahendra Karma, V C Shukla and ex-MLA Uday Mudaliyar.

More than a week after the incident, Mahant was made the acting Chairman of PCC.

Ajit Jogi`s son Amit Jogi has not found any place in any of these committees.

The party has appointed 15 Vice Presidents including Ajit Jogi`s wife Renu Jogi, senior leaders T S Singh Dev, Baijnath Chandrakar, Kavasi Lakhama and Pratibha Pandey.

The 22-member team of General Secretaries has Bhupesh Baghel, who is also the Programme Coordinator, Motilal Vora`s son Arun Vora and a tribal leader Fulo Devi Netam.

State frontal wing chiefs of the party Youth Congress, NSUI, INTUC, Seva Dal and Mahila Congress are special invitees.

Ram Gopal Agrawal has been made the Treasurer. Five additional spokespersons have also been appointed for the state.

A five-member social media and research department has also been set up, first of its kind in any state.

In a media workshop held here on July 22 and July 23, Rahul Gandhi had unveiled the plans to set up communication teams in all states ahead of the next general elections.
In some other announcements, former PCC chief of Tripura
Sudip Roy Burman has been appointed as CLP leader.

Gandhi also okayed the setting up of six-member Co-ordination Committees each for Tripura and Nagaland, which include AICC general secretaries in-charge for these states besides their PCC chiefs, CLP leaders and AICC secretaries in-charge.