Defection case: HC notice to Ajit Jogi, 12 others
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, January 04, 2012, 20:48
Bilaspur: The Chhattisgarh High Court has issued notices to former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi and twelve MLAs who had quit BJP.

In 2001, when Jogi was the Chief Minister, Tarun Chatterjee, Paresh Bagbahara, Madan Singh Dahriya, Shukrajit Nayak and eight others had quit BJP and formed Chhattisgarh Vikas Party.

Erstwhile assembly speaker Rajendra Prasad Shukl granted recognition to the outfit under the Constitution.

All of them joined Congress the very next day. This was challenged, but the speaker turned down the objection.

Consequently, in 2003, the then leader of opposition Nand Kumar Sai (BJP) moved HC against the speaker's decision.

Justice Satish Agnihotri of High Court yesterday heard the matter and issued notices to Jogi and the 12 MLAs.


First Published: Wednesday, January 04, 2012, 20:48

comments powered by Disqus