Civic polls in Tripura on Dec 9

The official notification said election to the 49-member Agartala Municipal Corporation, 13 municipal councils and six nagar panchayats would be held on Dec 9.

Agartala: Election to 20 civic bodies in Tripura, including Agartala Municipal Corporation, would be held on December 9, the state election commission notified on Thursday.

The official notification said election to the 49-member Agartala Municipal Corporation, 13 municipal councils and six nagar panchayats would be held on the day.

A total 537,968 voters, including 268,754 females, are entitled to cast their votes in the municipal elections through electronic voting machines.

By-elections for a few gram panchayats would also be held along with the civic body elections, where ballot boxes would be used.

G Kameswar Rao, the former state chief secretary, was appointed the State Election Commissioner.

Agartala municipality was elevated to the status of Agartala Municipal Corporation two years ago. The civic body was formed in princely Tripura in 1871 during the reign of Maharaja Bir Chandra Manikya.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link