This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

AAP declares four candidates for Delhi polls

Last Updated: Thursday, July 18, 2013 - 22:39

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party Thursday announced names of four candidates, including a former IAF personnel and a student, for the Delhi Assembly polls slated later this year.

The party announced the names of four final candidates, out of nine probables, for Model Town, Rohtas Nagar, Seelampur and Sakur Basti assembly constituencies.

Akhileshpati Tripathi, a student, has been declared candidate for Model Town constituency; while a former IAF personnel and law graduate Mukesh Hooda will fight from Rohtas Nagar, an AAP statement said.

Aftab Ahmed, a teacher, will contest from North East Delhi`s Seelampur Assembly constituency; and Satyendra Jain, an architect from Sakur Basti.
AAP said all the candidates had actively participated in Anna Hazare`s protests. Tripathy, Jain, Ahmed and Hooda have been associated with the Hazare`s movement, the party said.

The party has finalised the names of 33 candidates, out of 70 Assembly Constituencies.
AAP had selected the candidates after a cautious evaluation, keeping in mind that no person with criminal or tainted background is given a party ticket, the statement said.

On July 2, AAP had declared a list of 14 probable candidates for six Assembly constituencies, which include Model Town, Rohtas Nagar, Seelampur, Sakur Basti along with Mehrauli and Ambedkar Nagar.


First Published: Thursday, July 18, 2013 - 22:39

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus