This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Delhi: Inspite of the adverse exit polls in Delhi Assembly elections, BJP state unit chief Satish Upadhyay said on Monday that the decisions would be in favour of his party.

However, another BJP leader Shazia Ilmi, who joined the party before the poll after quitting the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) accepted that the fight was tough.

“Fight is tough, will see vote share because its likely that Congress votes have gone to AAP,” she said, as per ANI.

Ilmi also added that one could not ignore exit polls. Nonetheless, she said that one should wait for the results to come out.

Meanwhile, counting of votes for the high-profile Delhi Assembly polls in which BJP and AAP are locked in a direct fight will be taken up tomorrow and final results are likely to be available by 1 PM.

Delhi Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for counting of the ballots which will take place in 14 Centres across the city under tight security.

"Counting of votes will start at 8 AM and all the results should be out by 1 PM," an Election Commission official said, as per PTI.

The battle to win control over the city saw a resurgent AAP giving a tough fight to the BJP.

All the exit polls have given AAP a decisive edge over BJP with one of them giving it as high as 53 seats in the 70-member House.

A record 67.14 per cent turnout was recorded in the polls on Saturday in which a total of 673 candidates.

The BJP, which is out of power in Delhi for the last 16 years, made a gamble by bringing in former Team Anna member Kiran Bedi into the party and made her its Chief Ministerial candidate which is said to have triggered discontent among the party leaders and rank and file.

The BJP strategy has been countered by Kejriwal-led AAP which has put up a spirited campaign in a bid to stop the Modi juggernaut that has been on a roll ever since the Lok Sabha election victory in May last year.

The Congress, which had ruled Delhi for 15 years till December, 2013 has been projected to get at most five seats.

The number of candidates from recognised national and state parties is 296 while 183 candidates belong to registered parties and there are 194 Independent nominees.

With Agency inputs

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions