This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

BJP likely to release 1st list of candidates for Delhi Assembly polls today

New Delhi: With just 22 days left for Delhi Assembly polls, BJP's Election Committee is scheduled to hold its first meeting on Thursday to strategise its campaign.

The 21-member Committee, headed by Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay, will discuss election preparations and how to reach out to voters. The Election Committee is also expected to release its first list of candidates for Delhi Assembly polls today.

"The party's Election Committee may convene its first meeting on Thursday in which members will chalk out a foolproof plan to ensure victory for the BJP," a senior party leader said yesterday.

The committee comprises all the seven Delhi MPs --Harsh Vardhan, Meenakshi Lekhi, Pravesh Sahib Singh Verma, Udit Raj, Manoj Tiwari, Ramesh Bidhuri and Mahesh Girri.

Apart from these MPs, Rajya Sabha member and former Delhi BJP president Vijay Goel, senior party leader Jagdish Mukhi, Vijay Kumar Malhotra, councillor Ashish Sood, Vijendra Gupta, Mange Ram Garg, Kamal Jeet Sehrawat are among the leaders who have been included in the Election Committee.

In last Assembly polls in Delhi in 2013 December, BJP had bagged 31 seats in addition to one by its ally SAD, falling short of a simple majority in the 70-member House. AAP had won in 28 seats, followed by eight of Congress.

With PTI inputs

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions