Cash-for-vote: Banks named from where money came
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, August 24, 2011, 22:31
New Delhi: Delhi Police on Wednesday named the banks in the charge sheet filed in the cash-for-vote scam from where currency of different denominations were withdrawn for allegedly giving bribe to the MPs during the vote for confidence in Lok Sabha in 2008.

In its charge sheet filed before Special Judge Sangita Dhingra Sehgal, the police said the currency notes waved by the MPs in the House were seized by it and each bundle of the notes contains Rs 10 lakhs each.

"Rs one crore produced by the MPs in the Lok Sabha and later seized by the Delhi Police is in ten bundles of currency notes. Each bundle is of Rs 10 lakhs and each bundle contains ten wads of currency notes of Rs 1000/500 denomination," the charge sheet said.

Naming the banks from where the bundle of notes were withdrawn, the police said the bundles contained the slips of Bank of India, New Friends Colony branch, Punjab National Bank, Nehru Place branch, Union Bank of India, Faridabad, Pragati Grameen Bank, Mysore, Canara Bank, Axis Bank and Syndicate Bank.


First Published: Wednesday, August 24, 2011, 22:31

comments powered by Disqus