Congress sets up poll committee for Delhi

Last Updated: Monday, September 2, 2013 - 22:20

New Delhi: Looking for a fourth term in power in Delhi, Congress on Monday constituted a twenty-seven member election committee which has top leaders from the Centre and state including Chief Minister Shiela Dikshit and PCC chief JP Agrawal.

While Agrawal heads the panel, it has all senior leaders from Delhi including Union Ministers Kapil Sibal, Krishna Tirath and AICC general secretaries Janardan Dwivedi and Ajay Maken as members.

All party MPs, including Sandip Dikshit, Ramesh Kumar, Parvez Hashmi and Mahabal Mishra, have also been included. So also senior MLAs and leaders Tajdar Babar, Subhash Chopra, Prem Singh and ministers in Delhi government Arvindar Singh Lovely and Haroon Yusuf are members.

Assembly elections in Delhi are due this year-end.

The party has also consituted coordination committees for West Bengal, Bihar and Assam. PCC chiefs of the respective states are their convenors.

The committees have AICC general secretary in-charge, Secreary in-charge, CLP leaders and two prominent state leaders also as members.


First Published: Monday, September 2, 2013 - 22:20

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus