This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Decision on Telangana MPs after exam: Speaker

The MPs included eight from Congress and two each from TRS and TDP.

New Delhi: Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar
on Thursday said she had taken the decision to reject the
resignations of 12 MPs from Telangana region including TRS
chief K Chandrasekhar Rao after examining them "very

The MPs included eight from Congress and two each from
TRS and TDP. They had resigned en masse on July four to press
for separate Telangana.

The decision taken by the Speaker on November 15 came
just a week before the winter session of Parliament and a day
after Congress MPs from the region decided to raise the issue
of separate Telangana in the session.

"I have not accepted their resignations. I have examined
them very carefully," Kumar told reporters after an all party
meeting today.

She said she took the decision not to accept their
resignations on the basis of Rule 240 from the Rules of
Procedures of Lok Sabha.

Under the rule, the Speaker may reject the resignation, if
she finds after summary inquiry that the resignation is not
"voluntary or genuine".

Parliament sources said the resignations were not accepted
by the Speaker as they were not in proper format.

They added that the Speaker found that the resignations
were not as per a rule which stipulates that the resignation
should be in a certain format and a member doing so shall not
give any reason for the resignation.

The Congress MPs whose resignations were rejected by
the Speaker are Ponnam Prabhakar, G S Reddy, M Jagannath, S
Rajaiah, P Balram Nayak, G Vivekanand, Suresh Shetkar and
Madhu Goud Yakshi.

The others whose resignation was rejected are TDP
MPs, Ramesh Rathod and Namma Nageswara Rao, and TRS chief K
Chandrashekar Rao and party MP Vijayashanti.

Parliament sources said that some of these MPs had
attended the Committee meetings even after tendering their
resignations while others have put up questions and some have
even attended the House.

The resignations of two MPs K R G Reddy and M Rajmohan
Reddy are still under examination of the Speaker. Rajmohan
Reddy who has been a Congress member had joined the YSR

Asked about the fate of these MPs, the Speaker merely
said, "These two resignations are at my discretion."

The issue of Telangana is expected to rock Parliament in
this session. Swaraj has already given a notice for a
discussion on the issue under Rule 193.

Asked about BJP stand on the issue, Swaraj talking to
reporters after the all-party meeting convened by the Speaker,
said, "We want a separate Telangana state."


From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions