Delhi Assembly polls: As it happened

4:01 pm: Speaking to a news channel, Chief Election Commissioner HS Brahma expressed confidence that the voting percentage will cross 70% in Delhi Assembly elections.

Delhi Assembly polls: As it happened

8:16 pm: Whole election went peacefully, no difficulties in terms of any issue which needed great deal of intervention: EC 

8:15 pm: Poll percentage for Delhi Assembly election is expected go a little bit further: Chandra Bhushan Kumar, Chief Electoral Officer 

8:15 pm: We are happy to announce this election has been unprecedented in terms of voter turn out, poll percentage has crossed 67.08%: EC

6:00 pm: However the voters who joined the lines outside polling booths till 6 pm will be allowed to cast their votes.

Also Read: Delhi polls: Voting time extended for those in queue before 6 PM

6:00 pm: Voting for Delhi Assembly polls officially ends.

Also Read: 63.46 percent polling in Delhi polls till 5 PM

5:30 pm: 63.46% votes were polled till 5 pm. 

5:00 pm: As voting nears its end, both the BJP and the AAP claim victory. ​

4:01 pm: Speaking to a news channel, Chief Election Commissioner HS Brahma expressed confidence that the voting percentage will cross 70% in Delhi Assembly elections.

3:51 pm: 53% voting till 3 pm

3:25 pm: Amazing sense of joy, tweets Kiran Bedi

3:05 pm: With just hours left before polling comes to a close, Delhiites are coming out in strength to cast their votes. 46% voting has been recorded till 2 pm. 

2:45 pm: Kiran Bedi will be the next CM of Delhi, tweets BJP leader Subramanian Swamy 

2:35 pm: BJP MP from North-East Delhi Manoj Tiwari claims that his party will win 43+ seats.

2.10 pm: Kejriwal tweets about long queues of voters at polling booth.

1:50 pm: AAP complains to Election Commission against Kiran Bedi for allegedly violating model code of conduct in Krishna Nagar. Bedi had held a padyatra to reach out to voters today.

Also Read: Kiran Bedi alleges AAP offering bribe, Kejriwal denies

1:40 pm: Responding to Nupur Sharma's charge that she was manhandled by AAP workers, party leader Sanjay Singh said that she should go and file a police complaint. He added that it was infact AAP workers who were being attacked in Delhi.

1:30 pm: 35.5% voting till 1 pm

1:10 pm: BJP workers have given up, they know they are losing, it's almost a one-way contest, says Arvind Kejriwal

1:05 pm: AAP workers misbehaved with me at Karawal Nagar. They even abused me; they have taken Arvind Kejriwal as their God, that's the reason why they do such acts - Shazia Illmi

12:55 pm: Slow voting in Delhi. Only 24% votes cast till 12 noon.

12:35 pm: Nupur Sharma, who is contesting against Arvind Kejriwal from New Delhi constituency, has alleged that AAP volunteers misbehaved with her near India Gate when she questioned them for allegedly campaigning near a poll booth.    

12:15 pm: AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal claims sources have told him that BJP has given up in many places (constituencies). He tweeted:

12.10 pm: Responding to Arvind Kejriwal's charge that parties have distributed money and liquor last night to influence voters, former CM Shiela Dikshit said, "Hasn't he done that that as well?", adding sarcastically, "One who is caught is the thief." 

12:06 pm: Area-wise breakup: Central Delhi - 15.75%, New Delhi - 18.8%, West Delhi - 19.54%, South-West Delhi - 21.2%, North-West Delhi - 20.45%, South Delhi - 19.55%

12:05 pm: Voting picks up as day progresses. Overall 19.59% votes have been cast till 11 am.

11:30 am: Voting picks up in Delhi. 9.25% votes cast till 10 am.

11:10 am: President Pranab Mukherjee's daughter Sharmistha, who is the Congress candidate from Greater Kailash, casts her vote.

10:40 am: BSF deployed in Booth no 7 of Trilokpuri to ensure security.

10:35 am: Kiran Bedi visits polling booths in Krishna Nagar; locals allege AAP workers intimidating people to not vote for BJP, says Bedi

Also Read: AAP workers intimidating voters in Krishna Nagar: Kiran Bedi

10:30 am: Delhi Lieutenant-Governor Najeeb Jung and Army Chief Dalbir Singh Suhag cast their votes.

10:25 am: I am confident, looking forward to a new Delhi. I will work till the end, we have to make Delhi a world-class city - Kiran Bedi

10:20 am: Polling percentages till 9 am: Central Delhi - 4.3%, New Delhi - 5.1%, North Delhi - 5.6%, East Delhi - 6.2%, North East Delhi - 6.6%, North West Delhi - 6.04%.

10:18 am: Rahul Gandhi ignores media, leaves from the polling station at Aurangzeb Lane.

10:17 am: Arvind Kejriwal avoids media after casting his vote, leaves from back gate, claim reports.

10:10 am: Arvind Kejriwal casts his vote at a polling booth at Khalsa Girls School, Lodhi Road.

10:05 am: Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi casts his vote.

9:50 am: Slow start to voting in Delhi. 5.64% voting till 9 am.

9:45 am: People want freedom from corruption, bribery and I am hopeful they will vote accordingly. Truth will win. In the end, this will be a victory of the people - Arvind Kejriwal 

9:40 am: People should go out and vote in numbers, says Kejriwal

9:38 am: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal leaves from his residence to cast his vote at BK Dutt colony. He is the party's chief ministerial candidate and is contesting the polls from New Delhi constituency. 

9:35 am: Congress president Sonia Gandhi casts her vote, says whatever people want, it will happen.

9:20 am: We will neither take nor extend any support to AAP for government formation, says Ajay Maken after casting his vote.

Also Read: Only Congress can solve Delhi's complex problems: Ajay Maken

8:55 am: Union Minister Dr Harsh Vardhan and his mother cast their votes in Krishna Nagar constituency in East Delhi.

Also Read: Harsh Vardhan casts his vote with his mother, says BJP will win in Delhi

8:40 am: Arvind Kejriwal tweeted: 

Also Read: Don't forget to vote: Arvind Kejriwal to Delhiites

8:35 am: Flashing a victory sign, BJP's chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi votes at a polling booth in Neeti Bagh area of South Delhi. Delhi will vote for development, she says. 

8:34 am: Vice President Hamid Ansari arrives at Nirman Bhavan polling booth to cast his vote.

Also Read: Delhi polls: Vice President Ansari casts his vote

8:20 am: Today is a historic day. It's for Delhiites to vote for clean, literate and safe Delhi, says Kiran Bedi

Also Read: Historic day today, please come out and vote: Kiran Bedi to Delhiites

8:00 am: Voting began across Delhi for the Assembly Election 2015 on Saturday. By all accounts it is going to be a pitched battle between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

  • With pre-poll surveys indicating a tough fight, the BJP has said the election results won't be a referendum on the Narendra Modi-led government at the Centre.
  • A total of 673 candidates are in the fray for the 70-member Assembly. Sixty-three contestants are women.
  • There are over 1.3 crore voters in Delhi out which 59 lakh are females. There are over 2.27 lakh first-time voters.
  • There will be 11,763 polling stations spread across 2,530 locations. Out of these, 741 have been classified as critical while 191 others are highly critical.
  • Security has been beefed up in Delhi to avoid any untoward incident during polling. While 64,000 police personnel had been deployed on poll duty during last elections, the Election Commission has not disclosed the exact number this time.
  • The Delhi police is working in tandem with the police forces of Haryana, Punjab, Chandigarh, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan to keep a check on these activities.
  • As many as 95,000 government officials have been roped in for election duty to ensure smooth conduct of the polling process.
  • The Election Commission has also taken elaborate steps which includes deployment of micro observers and installation of CCTV cameras.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link