This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Delhi Assembly`s first session begins, Arvind Kejriwal takes oath as MLA

Last Updated: Wednesday, January 1, 2014 - 14:17

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: The first session of the new Delhi Assembly began on Wednesday, with Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, his Cabinet ministers and other MLAs taking oath.

Kejriwal was the first to be administered oath by pro-tem Speaker Mateen Ahmad. He was followed by Manish Sisodia and then other ministers and MLAs.

Kejriwal was also seen shaking hands with BJP leader Harsh Vardhan after taking oath.
The first session of the new Delhi Assembly will continue till January 7, and the Arvind Kejriwal-led government will seek a vote of confidence on the floor of the House tomorrow.

The election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker will be held on January 3.

Lt Governor Najeeb Jung will address the House on January 6. On January 7, a discussion on Jung`s address will take place.
In the 70-member Assembly, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has 28 MLAs, eight short of a majority. AAP has the support of eight MLAs of Congress, which is expected to see across the half-way mark. BJP has 31 members and its ally Akali Dal has one.

AAP on Tuesday named its first-time MLA MS Dhir as its candidate for Speaker`s post.

(With agency inputs)

First Published: Wednesday, January 1, 2014 - 10:15

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus