Delhi Transport Secretary shifted

Last Updated: Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 23:34

New Delhi: Delhi government Wednesday removed its Transport Secretary Rajendra Kumar in the wake of sharp criticism for its alleged failure to regulate public transport in the city.

Following December 16 gang-rape incident, in which a 23-year-old girl was sexually assaulted and brutally killed in a moving bus, there were demands to regulate the public transport in the national capital. The bus did not have the permit to ply on the road.

Kumar, a 1989 batch IAS officer, has been posted as Secretary Higher Education and Puneet Goel is the new Transport Secretary.

Unhappy with the functioning of the Transport department,
Lt Governor Tejendra Khanna had earlier this month directed Delhi government to take steps like installing CCTV cameras and GPS devices in all public buses.

Khanna had also asked the government to issue Public Service Badges in the form of photo identity card to drivers of all types of public utility vehicles including government and private buses, taxis, auto-rickshaws and radio taxis after proper verification and clearance by police.

At a meeting, earlier this month, Delhi Police had also conveyed to higher authorities that "slack" rules and regulations by the Transport department of Delhi government were hindering in effective policing.

Apart from reshuffle in transport department, the government has also divested of senior IAS officer Rakesh Bihari from the post of CMD, DSIIDC.

Also Finance Secretary Shakti Sinha, who was also holding additional charge of Principal Secretary Industries Department has been relieved from the additional responsibility.

Amit Yadav has been made Principal Secretary of Industries Department.

As per the government order, Chief Secretary D M Spolia will hold the additional charge of Principal Secretary, Urban Development, while Deputy Commissioner of New Delhi Neela Mohan has been appointed as Special Secretary to the Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit.


First Published: Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 23:34

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map