Ethics committee to monitor conduct of Delhi MLAs
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Friday, April 30, 2010, 00:44
New Delhi: For Delhi MLAs -- getting away with any misconduct will no longer be that easy.

Delhi Assembly speaker Yoganand Shastri today set up an ethics committee on the lines of Rajya Sabha to prepare a code of conduct for the legislators and monitor their activities -- both inside and outside the House.

"The committee will oversee the moral and ethical conduct of members and make necessary recommendations if any member is found guilty of breach of conduct," Shastri told reporters here.

Rajinder Nagar MLA Ramakant Goswami has been appointed chairman of the nine-member committee. Other members of the committee included Narendra Nath, Mukesh Sharma, Barkha Singh, Hari Shankar Gupta, Harsh Vardhan, O P Babbar and Ravindra Nath Bansal.

Shastri said he has decided to form the committee to "maintain highest traditions of parliamentary democracy. MLAs are expected to observe a certain standard of conduct both inside and out side the House."

Officials said the allegations against BJP MLA from Bijwasan Satprakash Rana that he had misbehaved with a Delhi Jal Board engineer has hastened the decision to form the committee.

Rana had allegedly roughed up a DJB engineer in October last year following which a delegation of the agency had approached the government to take appropriate action against the MLA.

Shastri said he has also appointed two new House committees -- Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes and Committee on Welfare of Minorities.

He said the Committee on Welfare of SC, ST and OBC earlier examined all issues relating to welfare of minorities as well as Other Backward Classes.

The speaker also announced names of members of various other committees including General Purpose Committee, Business Advisory Committee, Rules Committee, Library Committee, Committee on Environment, Public Accounts Committee etc.


First Published: Friday, April 30, 2010, 00:44

comments powered by Disqus