Gang-rape protests: Finally, five metro stations opened

Last Updated: Sunday, December 30, 2012 - 14:24

Zeenews Bureau

New Delhi: Five out of ten metro stations that were closed down for an indefinite period were finally opened in the wake of the death of the gang-rape victim, were opened Sunday afternoon.

Rajiv Chowk, Pragati Maidan, Mandi House, Patel Chowk, and Barakhamba stations have been opened. However, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan, Race Course, Khan Market and Jorbagh still remain closed.

Inter-change facility is available at Rajiv Chowk and Central Secretariat stations.

India Gate and its adjacent areas in the national capital remain out of bounds for public on Sunday, police said.

The Delhi Police had also closed down metro stations last week to prevent the livid agitators from reaching the protest sites.

The decision to close down the metro stations was taken by the Delhi Police, which are making all efforts to prevent the protesters from reaching the India Gate. They have already blocked the entire India Gate area so as to avoid any untoward incident.

Meanwhile, the Delhi Police have imposed Section 144 in various places of the national capital.

"Rajpath, Vijay Chowk and all roads leading to India Gate will be closed for general traffic. Travellers are advised to avoid these roads," Delhi Traffic Police posted on its Facebook page.

India Gate and Raisina Hill had witnessed violent protests against the gang-rape and police resorted to baton charge, water cannons and lobbing teargas shells to disperse protesters.

Constable Subhash Tomar died last Sunday during violent protests.

The body of the 23-year-old gang-rape victim was flown here from Singapore early Sunday morning and cremated within hours.

First Published: Sunday, December 30, 2012 - 09:20

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map