Govt allows Maya to retain five bungalows in Lutyen`s zone

Last Updated: Monday, November 18, 2013 - 21:58

New Delhi: The UPA government has allowed Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati, whose party gives crucial support to them, to retain five sprawling bungalows in the Lutyen`s zone here in the capital.

Earlier, she got approval of the Urban Development Ministry for merging three bungalows on the Gurudwar Rakabgunj Road into one and was allowed two more bungalows one on the same road and the other at the Tyagraj Marg.

The Ministry had allowed her to merge three bungalows (No. 12, 14 and 16) on the Gurudwara Rakabgunj Road as she had sought adequate space for Bahujan Samaj Prerna Trust.

But, since the rules do not allow any modification of bungalows in the Lutyen Zone, the CPWD has objected to the amalgamation of the three into one, an official said, adding, the violations have been reported to concerned authorities.

Besides, she was alloted bungalow No. 4 on the Gurudwara Rakabgunj Road for her party office and bungalow No. 3 on Tyagraj Marg as party president of BSP, the official added.

While bungalows on the Gurudwara Rakabgunj Road are Type VI, the Tyagraj accommodation is Type VIII.

At present, five other charitable trusts are allowed to be operational in the Lutyen`s bungalow zone. They are Babu Jagjivan Ram Memorial, Rajiv Gandhi Foundation, Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, Lal Bahadur Shastri Memorial and the Indira Gandhi National Centre for Arts.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Monday, November 18, 2013 - 21:58

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus