It`s raining `crorepatis` in Goa assembly

All but three members of the new Goa assembly are millionaires.

New Delhi: All but three members of the
new Goa assembly are millionaires.

37 out of 40 successful candidates in the coastal state
have declared their assets worth more than Rs one crore,
compared to 22 who were elected to the state Assembly in 2007.

According to the affidavits the candidates have submitted
to the Election Commission before elections, Pratapsingh Raoji
Rane of Congress who won from the Poriem constituency in North
Goa is now the richest person in the state Assembly.

Rane has declared his total movable and immovable assets
worth Rs 25,87,37,748, followed by Congress` Vijai Sardessai
from Fatorda constituency who has declared his assets worth Rs

Atanasio Monserrate from St.Cruz and Jennifer Monserrate
from Taleigao (both from Congress) ranked third in the rich
list, having assets worth over Rs 23 crore each, according
to their affidavits analysed by the Association for Democratic
Reforms (ADR) and Goa Election Watch.

Party wise, BJP has 18 crorepati MLAs while Congress has
nine, Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) has three and Goa
Vikas Party has two while five crorepatis were Independent
candidates. In the past Assembly, BJP had 14 crorepati members
while ruling Congress has 16 millionaire legislators.

Those who do not have assets worth over a crore are all
BJP MLAs -- Anant Shet from Maem, Subhash Naik from Cuncolim
and Ramesh Tawadkar from Canacona.

12 MLAs have pending cases against them, with GVP`s
Francisco Xavier Pacheco leading the list with 10 cases.

The previous assembly had nine tainted MLAs having
criminal cases against them.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link