LG inaugurates five garbage management systems in south Delhi

The number of Fixed Compactor Transfer Stations (FCTS) will go up to 15 next month, the SDMC said.

LG inaugurates five garbage management systems in south Delhi

New Delhi: Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung on Saturday inaugurated five garbage management systems in south Delhi in line with the Centre's 'Swachh Bharat Abhiyan'.

The Fixed Compactor Transfer Stations (FCTS) are located in the Central Zone of the South Delhi Municipal Corporation and the SDMC said by next month the number of FCTS will go up to 15.

"Deficiency in the sanitation and cleanliness leads to outbreak of diseases. These issues sometimes raises eyebrows over the lukewarm response of the agencies. It must be ensured that despite difficulties the SDMC is supposed to provide efficient services in the sanitation and cleanliness field," Jung said.

The total worth of FCTS project would be Rs 80 crore and will give a boost to waste disposal process.

The FCTS system consists of a bin, tipcart, hydraulically-operated loading shovel bucket, compressor and hook loader.

The collected garbage from localities will be put into the bin with capacity of around seven-tone garbage in bins measuring ten-and-a-half cubic metre. The tipcarts bringing garbage can bring two-and-a-half tone garbage putting it into the bin.

The LG, who is chairman of the DDA said, "DDA will definitely consider allotment of 100 acre land to the SDMC near its Okhla SLF site for useful disposal of the waste."

Jung also said he is in touch with NTPC to commission the Badarpur project which will convert waste into energy.

"The earlier concept involved separate agencies for primary collection of garbage through auto-tippers and secondary disposal through mobile compactors. The cost with the earlier method was around Rs 2600 per MT whereas the new operation is more economical as the cost per tone with the integrated operation will be Rs 1727 per MT," SDMC said.

BJP MP Meenakshi Lekhi, South Delhi Mayor Shyam Sharma, SDMC Commissioner P K Goel and Standing Committee Chairman Shalinder Singh Monti were also present.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link