This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

MCD elections: Congress, BJP file nominations for ward committees elections

Last Updated: Tuesday, May 6, 2014 - 00:31

New Delhi: Congress, BJP and others on Monday filed nominations for the elections to the chairman and deputy chairman posts in the ward committees and for members of the standing committee of the three corporations of the MCD.
The last date for filing nominations for all such municipal posts ended today.

Elections will be held for the post of chairman and deputy chairman for six of the ward committees of the the North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) and two ward committees of the East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC) on May 9, an NDMC official said.

Elections for the same posts for the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) will be held on May 12.

In NDMC, while only single nomination have been received for both the chairman and deputy chairman post for five of its zones -- City Zone (Cong), Sadar Paharganj Zone (BJP), Civil Lines Zone (BJP), Karol Bagh Zone (BJP) and Rohini Zone (BJP), two nominations each have been received for the Rural Narela Zone.

In EDMC, the fight looks tough with BJP and Congress both fielding candidates for the chairman post for both of its zones -- Shahdara (North) and Shahdara (South).

In SDMC, the fight for the chairman post among the BJP, Congress and the NCP is spread out in its four zones --South Zone, Najafgarh Zone, Central Zone and West Zone, the SDMC said.

All three civic bodies recently held elections for their respective mayor and deputy mayor too with BJP winning all three mayoral posts.

First Published: Tuesday, May 6, 2014 - 00:31
comments powered by Disqus