This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

MCD polls: Cong announces list of 263 candidates

Last Updated: Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 22:15

New Delhi: Congress on Sunday announced its
first list of 263 candidates for the Delhi municipal polls
barring nine seats for which a consensus was not arrived at.

The list includes the names of present MCD Leader of
Opposition Jai Kishan Sharma, former Mayor Farhad Suri and
councillor Shalu Malik.

Nutan Kochar, wife of a prominent Congress leader
Jitender Kochar, former DU University student`s leader Amrita
Dhavan, prominent local leaders Satbir Sharma, Ramesh Dutta
and Anita Babbar also figure in the list.

Among the candidates, six women were fielded from general
seats taking the total number of candidates from the fairer
sex to 141. Candidates for two seats reserved for women are
yet to be selected.
Fifteen Muslims, including seven women, also figure in
the list which also has five doctors.

The seats for which candidates are yet to be finalised
are Kirari Suleman Nagar (SC), Moti Nagar, Madipur (SC-W),
Vishnu Garden, Khayala (W), Mahipalpur, Said-ul-Ajaib, GK-I
and Brahmpuri.

A Congress leader said male sitting councillors whose
seats did not fall under women wards were given party tickets.
Tomorrow is the last date of nominations and candidates
for the the pending nine seats are expected to be finalised by
late tonight or early morning, the leader said.


First Published: Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 22:15
comments powered by Disqus