MCD polls: LJP announces 2nd list of candidates

Last Updated: Tuesday, March 20, 2012 - 19:23

New Delhi: Ramvilas Paswan`s LJP on Tuesday
announced the second list of 15 candidates, including seven
women and five Muslims, for the upcoming Delhi municipal

The second list of candidates came ten days after it
released its first list of 43 candidates. The second list
include seven women and five Muslims.

The candidates were finalised at a meeting chaired by LJP
chief Ramvilas Paswan and party MLA Shoib Iqbal among others.

The 15 wards for which the party candidates have been
finalised are: Rithala, Paschim Vihar-North, Dakshinpuri, New
Ashok Nagar, Gandhi Nagar, Bhajanpura (all women reserved),
Ambedkar Nagar (SC), Pooth Kalan, Kishanganj, West Patel
Nagar, Milap Nagar, Deoli, Metheypur and Brahampuri.

In Brahampuri which is a general seat, LJP is fielding a
woman candidate from Muslim community.

LJP has already announced that it will contest in all the
272 wards in three municipal bodies -North, South and East
where polling will take place on April 15.

Of the total 58 candidates in two lists, 25 are women,
out of which three have been fielded from general seats.

Out of the 43 candidates, 21 are Muslims, including ten


First Published: Tuesday, March 20, 2012 - 19:23

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus