MLAs evicted on first day of Delhi Assembly monsoon session
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, August 17, 2010, 23:00
New Delhi: Six opposition MLAs, including the lone BSP legislator, was forcefully evicted from Delhi Assembly on the first day of monsoon session today for violating decorum of the House.

Speaker Yoganand Shastri first ordered removal of four BJP MLAs who resorted to beating stainless steel utensils to draw his attention.

The BJP MLAs were demanding suspension of Question Hour to discuss allegations of corruption and financial irregularities in Commonwealth Games projects.

Disallowing the protest, the Speaker asked Assembly Marshals to remove Ramesh Bidhuri, S C L Gupta, Kulwant Rana and Manoj Shokeen from the House.

BSP MLA Mohammed Asif was forcefully removed from the House after he vociferously tried to raise the issue of increasing number of dengue cases in his Okhla constituency.

The Speaker said since he has decided to do away with discussion under Rule 280 to facilitate a debate regarding preparation for the Games, Asif should not insist on raising the issue under the same.

He asked the Marshals to remove Asif from the House after he did not heed to Shastri's repeated pleas.

BJP MLA Karan Singh Tanwar was also evicted from the House when he did not follow Speaker's direction not to speak during the discussion on Commonwealth Games.


First Published: Tuesday, August 17, 2010, 23:00

comments powered by Disqus