RS polls: Sinha objects to BJP support to independ

Last Updated: Tuesday, March 20, 2012 - 18:57

New Delhi: Rift in BJP over its decision not to field any candidate from Jharkhand for the Rajya Sabha elections came to the fore on Tuesday with senior leader Yashwant Sinha saying he was "pained" by the party`s support to an independent candidate and seeking corrective steps.
Sinha raised the issue of BJP`s tacit support to independent candidate Anshuman Mishra at the Parliamentary Party meeting this morning and said someone from the party should have been fielded.
He sought the intervention of senior BJP leader L K Advani who promised to speak to party President Nitin Gadkari.

"I have come across information according to which a certain person who has filed his nomination in Jharkhand as an independent candidate is also being supported by the BJP.

"Six BJP MLAs have signed his nomination papers and top members of the BJP were present when this gentleman was filing his nomination paper. So a clear impression has gone that he is supported by the BJP," Sinha told reporters while referring
to Mishra.

Feeling "pained" by this, he said, "I believe if we had to put up a candidate, we should have put up a worker of the party who has spent not years, but decades working for the party and not brought somebody from the outside and imposed
him on Jharkhand and on the party."

Sinha said he had raised the issue at the meeting of the Parliamentary Party.

"I said that our MLA should not be put on the auction block to the highest bidder and I am very satisfied that Advani ji has promised that he will speak to the National President of BJP and try and sort out the issue," he said.

Sinha said he would wait for the outcome of this intervention by Advani and then talk to media, if necessary.


First Published: Tuesday, March 20, 2012 - 18:57

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map