This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015 Results

EC issues notification for second phase of Bihar elections

Last Updated: Monday, September 21, 2015 - 21:29

Patna: The Election Commission on Monday issued notification for second phase of elections to the Bihar Assembly.

A total of 32 Assembly seats would witness elections in the second phase on October 16.

Last date for filing of nominations for second phase of elections was September 28.

Additional Chief Election Officer R Lakshmanan told reporters that four nominations were filed for the second phase on the opening day today.

Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) chief and former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi filed his nomination for Makhdumpur (reserved SC seat) on today. He submitted his nomination paper to the Sub Division Officer of Jehanabad, Ram Ishwar.

The second phase of elections would be held on 32 seats in six districts of the state - Jehanabad, Arwal, Rohtas, Kaimur, Aurangabad and Gaya, all Maoist-hit areas.

According to statistics provided by the EC, there are 85,86,704 electors on 32 seats in the second phase out of which there are 45,71,805 male, 40,14,585 female and 314 third gender voters.

There would be 8,849 polling stations during this phase and the last date of filing nominations is September 28.

The second phase of elections in Bihar would see keen contests in constituencies like Makhdumpur (reserved SC seat) and Imamganj (reserved SC seat) where former Chief Minister and Hindustani Awam Morcha chief Jitan Ram Manjhi is in the fray.

In Imamganj reserved seat in Gaya, Manjhi would take on the Speaker of outgoing Assembly Uday Narayan Chaudhary, a Nitish Kumar loyalist.


First Published: Monday, September 21, 2015 - 21:29

comments powered by Disqus

Bihar Elections 2015 Photos