Ten scientists, including Venky, among Padma awardees

Last Updated: Monday, January 25, 2010 - 19:41

New Delhi: Indian born Nobel laureate
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan was on Monday named for Padma Vibhushan, country`s second highest civilian honour announced on the eve of the 60th Republic Day.

Besides Ramakrishnan, three scientists got the Padma
Bhushan and six the Padma Shri.

Noted nuclear scientist Bikash Chandra Sinha, former
Director of the Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata and
US-based Arogyaswami Joseph Paulraj, who made significant
contribution to the science of wireless communication were
chosen for the Padma Bhushan awards.

Delhi-based mathematician Jagdish Chandra Kapur was the
other Padma Bhushan awardee.

Prof. Palpu Pushpangadan, plant scientist and former
Director of National Botanical Research Institute was among
the six scientists who were awarded the Padma Shri.

V P Dimri, Director of the National Geophysical Research
Institute, Vijaylakshmi Ravindranath, former Director,
National Brain Research Institute and Pucadyil Ittoop John, a
senior scientist holding the Meghnad Saha Chair at the
Institute of Plasma Research were also awarded Padma Shri.

"I am surprised and delighted," Dimri said to a news agency when
informed about his selection for the award. Similar was the
reaction of John, who is currently working on the ITER
project, that aims to produce electricity using nuclear

US-based Ponisseril Somasundaran and Karnataka-based M R
Satyanarayana Rao were the other Padma Shri awardees.


First Published: Monday, January 25, 2010 - 19:41

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus