Officials appointed for DUSU elections

Last Updated: Saturday, August 3, 2013 - 21:59

New Delhi: The Delhi University (DU) Saturday announced the names of officials who will be conduct elections for the office-bearers and members of the central council of the DU Students` Union (DUSU) for 2013-14.

Ashok Vohra from department of philosophy has been appointed the chief election commissioner while DS Rawat from department of chemistry is the chief returning officer. Deputy Dean of university information centre, Satish Kumar was named the returning officer.

The appointments have been made by DU Vice Chancellor, Dinesh Singh.

The vice-chancellor has also appointed the principals of colleges and heads of institutions affiliated to DUSU as election officers in their respective colleges and institutions, said the statement.

DUSU is the representative body of the students from most colleges and faculties. Apart from this, each college has its own students union to which elections are held every year.

The elections are by direct voting by the students of the university and member colleges.


First Published: Saturday, August 3, 2013 - 21:59

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus