Turkey to chair Energy Club of SCO in 2017

Turkey will chair the Energy Club of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) in 2017, becoming the first non-SCO country to hold its term presidency, Anadolu Agency reported Wednesday.

Ankara: Turkey will chair the Energy Club of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) in 2017, becoming the first non-SCO country to hold its term presidency, Anadolu Agency reported Wednesday.

According to Turkish Energy Ministry officials, Ankara's proposal for non-SCO member countries to assume the term presidency of the Energy Club was accepted in a meeting on Tuesday, and Turkey was elected to chair the Energy Club in 2017.

Earlier, only members of the SCO had assumed the term presidency of the Energy Club in turn, Xinhua news agency reported.

Turkish Energy Ministry will be the General Secretary of the Energy Club for one year.

The SCO Energy Club aims to deepen energy cooperation among member states, in addition to bolstering energy security and updating energy strategies.

Apart from SCO's original members, Turkey, Afghanistan, Iran, Mongolia, Belarus and Sri Lanka are the members of the SCO Energy Club.

Established in 2001, SCO is a regional political, economic and security organisation that groups China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan as full members.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link