Sahara Kolkata Football League Premier division from Friday
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, October 15, 2009, 21:44
Kolkata: The Indian Football Association (IFA) today announced the fixtures for Sahara Kolkata Football League Premier Division tournament that will kick off from tomorrow with BNR taking on Kalighat Milan Sangha at Mohun Bagan ground here.

The local league, to run simultaneously with the I-League, will have 16 teams and for the first two months, the state association has made the draws which will see 68 matches.

Mohun Bagan will take on East Bengal in the league's derby clash at Vidyasagar Krirangan in Barasat on December 12. Bagan will kick off their campaign on October 20, while East Bengal will start off the next day.

Another I-League side from the city, Chirag United SC will play their first match on December 9, while Mohammedan Sporting will open their campaign on October 22.

Mohun Bagan will play at their home ground, while East Bengal will play in Barasat.

"The Man-of-the-Match will get Rs 5,000, while in the exhibition matches (involving Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, Chirag United and Mohammedan Sporting) the MoM prize will carry Rs 10,000," IFA secretary Utpal Ganguli said.

"Initially we had 17 teams but Indian Air Force will not take part to make it 16-team competition," he said.

Two time Olympian Sailen Manna will inaugurate the league. Kolkata TV will telecast 55 matches of the local league.

Bureau Report

First Published: Thursday, October 15, 2009, 21:44

comments powered by Disqus