This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

28% voter turnout in J&K`s Anantnag; 24 injured in violence

IANS | Last Updated: Friday, April 25, 2014 - 00:39

Srinagar: At least 24 security personnel were injured in clashes during polling for Anantnag Lok Sabha seat in Kashmir on Thursday which recorded a voter turnout of 28 per cent.
"The tentative voter turnout for Anantnag Parliamentary constituency is 28 per cent which is slightly up from 27 per cent recorded in 2009 polls," Umang Narula, Chief Electoral Officer of Jammu and Kashmir, told reporters here.

He said the voter turnout figures might increase as last reports from some of the polling stations were yet to be received.

Narula said Anantnag district recorded the highest 37.76 per cent followed by Kulgam at 36.68 per cent, Shopian 20.43 per cent while Pulwama recorded just 6.32 per cent.

Migrant voters of the constituency turned out in higher numbers than the average with around 40 per cent of them cast their votes at polling stations set up in Jammu, Udhampur and Delhi, he said.

Narula said political killings ahead of the elections in Tral and Awantipora areas of the constituency could have resulted in lower voter turnout in Pulwama district.

"Over all the poll percentage and the number of voters who have exercised their franchise has increased," he said.

Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency, comprising 16 assembly segments, had 13.01 lakh voters including 6.15 lakh female voters.

The election authorities had set up 1,615 polling stations at 1,128 locations in the constituency, he said, adding barring few incidents of stone pelting, polling was largely peaceful.

Inspector General of Police, Kashmir, A G Mir said that 12 police personnel and an equal number of CRPF personnel were injured in stone pelting incidents at several places in the constituency.
He said some arrests have been made in connection with these incidents.

Although 12 candidates were in the fray from this seat, it was expected to be a direct contest fight between ruling National Conference candidate Mehboob Beg and opposition PDP President Mehbooba Mufti.

Of the 16 Assembly segments, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) MLAs represent 12, the Congress two and the National Conference (NC) and the CPI-M one each.

First Published: Thursday, April 24, 2014 - 08:22
comments powered by Disqus