This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

47.58% votes cast in 7 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar

PTI | Last Updated: Thursday, April 17, 2014 - 17:54

Patna: Polling gained momentum as 47.58 per cent votes were cast in seven parliamentary seats in Bihar till Thursday afternoon.

A maximum 53 per cent voting was recorded in Buxar and Jehanabad Lok Sabha seats each followed by Arrah, Munger and Jehanabad where 47 per cent votes were cast till 4 PM., the office of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Bihar, said in a statement.

Pataliputra lok sabha seat where the RJD supremo`s daughter Misa Bharti, BJP`s Ramkripal Yadav and JD(U)`s Ranjan Yadav are among prominent candidates recorded 45 per cent polling, it said.

Patna Sahib lok sabha seat, where the incumbent MP Shatrughan Sinha (BJP) is locked in a battle with the Congress contender Kunal Singh Yadav, has recorded 43 per cent polling till 4 pm.
Chief Minister Nitish Kumar cast his vote at booth number 192 at the girls high school in Bakhtiyarpur under Patna Sahib parliamentary constituency.

A report from Lakhisarai said some workers of the BJP and JD(U) clashed in a bazar under Suryagraha assembly segment in Munger parliamentary seat.

No one was injured in the scuffle, the Sub-Divisional Police Officer (SDPO) Manoj Kumar Tiwari said.

First Published: Thursday, April 17, 2014 - 07:31
comments powered by Disqus