This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

About 70 % voting in re-polling at 12 booths in Karnataka

Last Updated: Tuesday, April 29, 2014 - 22:18

Bangalore: An estimated 70 percent of the electorate on Tuesday cast their vote in the re-polling held at 12 polling stations across nine Lok Sabha constituencies in Karnataka.

"We have estimated 65 to 70 percent voter turnout at re-polling held in 12 polling stations today," Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer Anil Kumar Jha told PTI.

"Polling was normal and peaceful," he added.
The CEO had recommended re-polling at 11 polling stations due to technical problems in EVMs and polling station at Turuvekere in Tumkur Lok Sabha constituency because of human error committed by election officials.

Re-polling took place in polling stations in Lok Sabha constituencies of Tumkur, Haveri, Bagalkot, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Raichur, Bidar, Shimoga and Hassan.

All 28 Lok Sabha constituencies in Karnataka went to polls on April 17 in a single phase, registering an overall 67.28 per cent polling.

CEO had earlier suspended four election officials for trying to handle the voting machine in violation of electoral laws.

First Published: Tuesday, April 29, 2014 - 22:18

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus