This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

After two decades, DMK, Cong have no MPs from Tamil Nadu

PTI | Last Updated: Friday, May 16, 2014 - 20:23

Chennai: For the first time after the 1991 Lok Sabha elections, the DMK will not have its representatives in the Lower House and similarly Congress will have no nominees from Tamil Nadu after 1998.

The DMK has been part of almost all the regimes at the Centre starting from Deve Gowda`s Ministry of 1996 barring a brief hiatus during 1998-99 when the AIADMK was part of the BJP-led NDA.

The party suffered worst defeats in 1989 and 1991 Lok Sabha elections and could not manage to win even a single seat. From 1962 to 1984, the DMK has always had representatives in the Lok Sabha though the number varied.

If it won 25 seats in the 1967 polls heading a front of several parties including Rajaji`s Swatanthra Party, it had its low in 1984 when it could win only two seats. Now, after 1991, the DMK has failed to win even a single seat.

Ironically, dismissing both "Modi and Lady (referring to Chief Minister Jayalalithaa) wave," DMK leader Statlin had said it was his "daddy`s wave," during electioneering in TN.

Similarly, the Congress, which managed to win three seats even during a wave against it in 1967, could not win a single seat in 2014 polls like the 1996 and 1998 Parliamentary elections.

Also, the CPI and CPI (M) will have no representative from Tamil Nadu after a long time. In 1999, CPI did not win a seat and CPI (M) could not win any seat in 1996. In 1991, both the Left parties could not win any seat. In 1998, while CPI managed to win a seat, CPI-M drew a blank.

The unprecedented loss suffered by DMK also partially fulfilled the vow of its expelled leader M K Alagiri, who campaigned against the party nominees in southern districts asking his supporters to ensure that the DMK finished third.

Alagiri, DMK`s South Zone Organising Secretary and elder son of Karunanidhi, was expelled by the party just ahead of the announcement of the polls after he questioned selection of party candidates and holding his younger brother and Treasurer M K Stalin responsible for it.

Eager to bounce back after the drubbing in 2011 assembly polls, DMK put all its might in the electioneering but failed to impress the electorate, who chose to gave a "thumbs up" for Jayalalithaa-led party.
Smearing salt on the wounds of the DMK, the electorate refused to buy the spiking campaign plank it unleashed against Jayalalithaa Government accusing it of failure to perform on various fronts particularly on power supply.

DMK`s Dalit face and tainted former Minister Raja (Nilgiris), Dayanidhi Maran involved inthe Aircel-Maxis deal contested from Central Chennai, former Union Minister T R Baalu (Thanjavur), and former union minister S Jagathrakshakan (Sriperumbudur) were among those who bit the dust.
While A Raja spent more than a year in jail in the 2G spectrum scam, Dayanidhi Maran had to quit the Textiles Ministry after allegations of bribery were levelled against him in the Aircel-Maxis deal.

First Published: Friday, May 16, 2014 - 20:23
comments powered by Disqus