This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Amarinder the lone MLA to win at LS polls from Punjab

Last Updated: Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 00:11

Chandigarh: Of the seven MLAs who tried their luck at the parliamentary hustings from Punjab, only former chief minister Amarinder Singh of Congress was lucky enough to romp home victorious.

Amarinder drubbed BJP`s Arun Jaitley from Amritsar in the one big contest which was keenly watched by everyone.

Congress put its bet on its sitting MLAs Amarinder Singh (Patiala), Sadhu Singh Dharamsot (Nabha), Sunil Kumar Jakhar (Abohar) and Joginder Singh Panjgrain (Jaito).

Not lagging behind SAD also tried its luck by fielding two sitting MLAs Pawan Kumar Teenu (Adampur) and Manpreet Singh Aiyali (Dakha).

Independent MLA from Atam Nagar, Simerjeet Singh Bains also put his hat in the ring from Ludhiana seat.

Sadhu Singh lost to AAP`s Harinder Singh Khalsa from Fatehgarh Sahib seat while Joginder Singh finished poor third at Faridkot where AAP`s Prof Sadhu Singh won, also beating sitting SAD MP Paramjeet Kaur Gulshan.
Jakhar was beaten by SAD sitting MP Sher Singh Ghubaya in Ferozepur.

Congress`s Santokh Singh drubbed SAD`s sitting MLA Teenu in Jalandhar, while Aiyali lost to Congress MP Ravneet Singh Bittu from Ludhiana while Bains finished third there.
Only one woman, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, wife of deputy chief minister Sukhbir Singh Badal, registered a win at the hustings from a total of 19 contestants. She defeated her cousin Manpreet Singh Badal of Congress in Bathinda.

First Published: Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 00:11
comments powered by Disqus