Andhra Pradesh Assembly Elections Results: Seemandhra prefers TDP, TRS rides high on Telangana sentiment

Seemandhra prefers TDP, TRS rides high on Telangana sentiment.

Zee Media Bureau/Neha Attre/Sushmita Dutta

8:45 pm: Seemandhra prefers TDP, TRS rides high on Telangana sentiment

In the historic elections in the two Telugu speaking states, two regional parties swept to power, ending the decade-long rule of the Congress party. 

Riding on the Telangana sentiment, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) won the public mandate to form the first government in the newly-created Telangana state while people in Seemandhra or residuary Andhra Pradesh voted to power an experienced Chandrababu Naidu. 

The Congress was decimated in Seemandhra as it drew a blank in both the assembly and Lok Sabha election. The public anger over the state`s bifurcation was in full play. 

8:30 pm:Five central ministers, including two of cabinet rank, lost the Lok Sabha elections in Seemandhra.

With the Congress party suffering complete annihilation in Seemandhra due to bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, no central or state minister could retain his seat. The party drew a blank in both assembly and Lok Sabha election.

8:15 pm: Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N Chandrababu Naidu indicated that his party is ready to join the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government at the centre.

7:49 pm: TDP-BJP alliance sweeps to power in Seemandhra; Cong routed.

7:45 pm: YSR Congress Party chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy wins Pulivedula Assembly seat in Kadapa district by a margin of more than 75,000 votes, defeating TDP nominee Satish Kumar Reddy.

5:55 pm: BJP-TDP combine wins 91 seats so far; secures majority in the 175-member Seemandhra Assembly (residuary Andhra Pradesh).

5:05 pm: Union Tribal Affairs Minister V Kishore Chandra Deo is defeated by YSR Congress Party candidate K Geetha in Aruku Lok Sabha constituency in Andhra Pradesh.

4:38 pm: TDP-BJP is likely to form a government in Seemandhra after it won 67 Assembly seats in the state and is leading in 37 others. It is followed by YSR Congress party which has bagged 45 Assembly seats and is leading in 24 others.

4:15 pm: TRS chief got maximum number of votes and won Medak Lok Sabha and the Gajwel Assembly constituencies.

3:40 pm: TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu wins Kuppam Assembly seat by over 47,000 votes, defeating nearest YSR Cong rival Chandramouli, as per PTI.

2:40 pm: While TDP and TRS are leading after winning two seats each, Congress and YSRCP are trailing behind with one seat each in the state.

2:20 pm: TDP-BJP combine has bagged 20 Assembly seats and leading 85 others while YSR Congress emerged victorious in 16 segments and was ahead in another 51 among the 175 constituencies in Seemandhra, the PTI reported.

1:40 pm: TRS chief K Chandrasekhara Rao was leading in both Medak Lok Sabha and Gajwel Assembly constituencies.

1:20 pm: Congress seems to be lagging behind in the vote count as it has managed to lead in only 20 Assembly constituencies.

12:30 pm: YSR Congress candidates are ahead in the six Assembly seats in Kadapa, while TDP nominees are leading in four, PTI reported.

1:10 pm: TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao`s son K Taraka Rama Rao won the first Telangana seat from Sircilla Assembly in Karimnagar district with a margin of over 49,035 votes.

He defeated his rival K Ravinder Rao from Congress who got 36,791 votes.

12:30 pm: YSR Congress candidates are ahead in the six Assembly seats in Kadapa, while TDP nominees are leading in four, the PTI reported.

12:00 pm: In the first round of voting, YSRC chief YS Janmohan Reddy is leading in Pulivendula seat by 1,827 votes.

11:45 am: TRS is likely to form the first government in the newly created state of Telangana after the party registered a lead in 64 Assembly constituencies. Telangana will be created as the 29th state of the country on June 2.

11:10 am: As per latest reports, TRS is leading in 51 seats out of 119 Assembly seats in Telangana while TDP is winning in 50 seats followed by YSR Congress party at 40 in Seemandhara.

11:00 am: As per the latest trends, TDP is now leading in 101 Assembly seats in the state.

10:20 am: TDP is leading in over 50 Assembly seats folowed by YSR Congress Party in 40 in Seemandhra, the PTI reported.

9:55 am: TDP supremo N Chandrababu Naidu is leading from Kuppam in Chittoor district by over 1,400 votes.

9:45 am: According to early trends, TDP continues to maintain the lead with 77 seats followed by TRS which is winning in 42 seats, according to early trends.

9:00 am: TRS is racing ahead in 19 seats followed by TDP in nine seats. Congress and YSRCP have managed to win seven and six seats respectively.

8:30 am: TRS continues to get majority of votes and has secured a lead in six seats, as per early trends.

8:20 am: As per early trends available, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is leading in two seats followed by Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) on one.

8:00 am: Counting of votes has started in undivided Andhra Pradesh where Telangana and Seemandhara will get their respective governments after the division of the state.

The counting for 294 Assembly seats will take place today in Andhra Pradesh where two-phase polling was held on April 30 and May 7.

The state will be divided into Telangana and Seemandhara region which will have its separate government after the bifurcation.
Comprising 10 districts, Telangana will be created as the India`s 29th state on June 2.

While Telangana will have 119 Assembly seats, Seemandhara will get 175 Assembly seats across 13 districts.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link