BJP sweeps Delhi, wins all 7 seats

Last Updated: Friday, May 16, 2014 - 23:16

New Delhi: BJP on Friday recorded a landslide victory in Lok sabha election in the national capital, emerging victorious in all seven seats with huge margins while AAP, which had made a spectacular debut in the assembly polls five months back, could not win a single constituency.

The Congress` poor showing in the city continued as its seven MPs, including two Union Ministers, were relegated to third position in their constituencies as AAP occupied second position in all seats.

Prominent candidates who won included Delhi BJP chief Harsh Vardhan, Meenakshi Lekhi, Udit Raj and Ramesh Bidhuri.

In prestigious New Delhi constituency, Lekhi defeated AAP candidate Ashish Khetan by a margin of 1,62,708 votes.

Lekhi polled 4,53,350 votes against Khetan`s 2,90,642 votes. Former Union Minister and sitting MP Ajay Maken was in the third position with 1,82,893 votes.

BJP candidate from North West Delhi constituency Raj emerged victorious trouncing his nearest rival Rakhi Birla of AAP by a margin of 1.06 lakh votes. Raj, who had joined BJP just a few months before the elections, polled 6,29,860 votes against Birla`s 5,23,058.

Rakhi is MLA from Mongolpuri. Union Minister and Congress` sitting MP Krishna Tirath polled 1,57,468 votes while BSP`s Basant Panwar got 21,485 votes.

In South Delhi seat, Bidhuri defeated Devinder Sehrawat of AAP by a margin of 1,07,000 votes.

Bidhuri, sitting MLA from Tuglakabad constituency, polled 4,97,980 votes against Sehrawat`s 3,90,980 votes. Congress` sitting MLA Ramesh Kumar, brother of Sajjan Kumar, was in the third position with 1,25,213 votes.

In East Delhi constituency, BJP candidate Maheish Girri defeated AAP`s Rajmohan Gandhi, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi, by a margin of 1,90,463 votes.

Girri, who was associated with Art of Living, polled 5,72,202 votes against Gandhi`s 3,81,739 votes. Congress` sitting MP Sandeep Dikshit polled 2,03,240 votes.

In West Delhi seat, BJP`s Parvesh Verma won by a margin of 2,68,586 votes, defeating his nearest rival Jarnail Singh of AAP.

Verma polled 6,51,395 votes against Singh`s 3,82,809 votes. Congress` Mahabal Mishra was in the third position with 1,93,266 votes.

In North East Delhi constituency, BJP`s Manoj Tiwari defeated Anand Kumar of Aam Aadmi Party by a margin of 1,44,084 votes. Tiwari, Bhojpuri actor-singer, polled 5,96,125 votes against Kumar`s 4,52,041 votes. Congress J P Agarwal received 2,14,792 votes.
Vardhan was ahead in Chandni Chowk constituency by over 1.35 lakh votes against his nearest rival Ashutosh of AAP. Congress Kapil Sibal was in the third position. Vardhan polled over 4.36 lakh votes while Sibal got around 1.75 lakh votes.

Congress` electoral humiliation continued months after its severe drubbing in the assembly polls.

Like in assembly polls, the fledging Aam Aadmi Party emerged as the second largest party in the Lok Sabha polls though it could not win a single seat.

In the assembly polls, the Congress had secured a vote share of 24.55 which came down to 15.1 per cent in the Lok Sabha election.

The BJP had secured 33.07 per cent vote share in the assembly polls which increased to 46.1 per cent in the Lok Sabha polls. The AAP`s vote share also increased to 32.9 per cent from 29.49 per cent in the assembly polls.

"We respectfully accepted the people`s mandate and promise to play a positive role in days to come. We also thank lakhs of party workers who put lot of hard work in the run up to the election," Delhi Congress` Chief Spokesperson Mukesh Sharma said.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Friday, May 16, 2014 - 10:11

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus