This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Campaigning ends for five Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand

Last Updated: Monday, May 5, 2014 - 23:37

Dehradun: Curtains came down on campaigning for five Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand, where about 70 lakh voters will elect MPs from over 70 candidates on May 7.
Electioneering in Haridwar, Tehri, Pauri, Nainital and Almora LS seats ended at 5 PM this evening. However, door-to-door campaigning can still be done by the candidates, Election Commission sources said here.

Over 70 candidates, including three former BJP chief ministers - Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri, Bhagat Singh Koshiyari and Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank, are in the fray?from the five seats. Total 70,43,929 voters are eligible to cast vote.

Congress has fielded its sitting candidates K C Singh Baba from Nainital and Pradip Tamta from Almora.

Chief Minister Harish Rawat`s wife, Renuka, and former chief minister Vijay Bahuguna`s son, Saket, are also contesting the polls from Haridwar and Tehri seats, respectively.

All the five seats had gone to the Congress in the last general elections held in 2009.

However, Congress had lost Tehri to the BJP in the by-poll held in 2012 after former Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna vacated the seat to take over as the Chief Minister of the state.

First Published: Monday, May 5, 2014 - 23:37

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus