Hundreds file nominations on last day in Telangana

Last Updated: Wednesday, April 9, 2014 - 16:14

Hyderabad: Hundreds of candidates filed their nomination for Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Telangana Wednesday, the last day of filing the papers.

With most of the parties deciding their candidates late Tuesday, the candidates rushed against time to file the nominations.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao, president of Telangana unit of the Congress Ponnala Lakshmaiah, chief of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) unit G. Kishan Reddy, actresses Vijayashanti and Jayasudha were among prominent personalities who filed their nominations.

According to Election Commission officials, 1,109 nominations were received so far for Assembly elections and 143 nominations for Lok Sabha polls.

Though the time for filing the nominations ended 3 p.m, the final numbers will be known in the evening.

The scrutiny of the nominations will take place Thursday while the last date for withdrawal is April 12.
Elections to 119 assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana are scheduled April 30.

Though the region is set to get the status of separate state June 2, the Election Commission is conducting the polls in the united Andhra Pradesh. The polls for 175 Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Seemandhra are scheduled May 7.

TRS chief Chandrasekhara Rao filed his nominations for both Lok Sabha and Assembly elections. He is contesting for Lok Sabha from Medak and for Assembly from Gajwel. His daughter K. Kavitha filed her papers from Nizamabad Lok Sabha seat.

Telangana Congress chief Ponnala Laksmiaha filed his papers from Jangaon in Warangal district while BJP`s Kishan Reddy is contesting from Amberpet Assembly constituency in Hyderabad.

Veteran actress Vijayashanti, who quit TRS and recently joined Congress, filed her nomination for Medak assembly constituency. Another popular actress Jayasudha is seeking re-election to Assembly from Secunderabad.
The BJP, which entered into an electoral alliance with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), announced its second and last list of candidates Wednesday morning. The BJP is contesting 47 assembly and eight Lok Sabha seats.

YSR Congress party released its list late Tuesday night. Former director general of police Dinesh Reddy filed his nomination as YSR Congress candidate from Malkajgiri Lok Sabha constituency near Hyderabad.

Former union minister of state Bandaru Dattetreya filed his papers from Secunderabad parliamentary constituency. Sitting Congress legislator Anjan Kumar Yadav also filed his nomination on the last day.

The Congress has announced candidates for 111 assembly and 16 Lok Sabha seats, leaving eight assembly and Khammam Lok Sabha seat for its ally the Communist Party of India (CPI).

Though the Communist Party of India (Marxist), the Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM), the Lok Satta, Aam Admi Party (AAP) and other parties have also fielded candidates in some constituencies, Telangana is likely to witness a triangular contest among the Congress, the TRS and the TDP-BJP combine.


First Published: Wednesday, April 9, 2014 - 16:11

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus